Lisa Kaufman | About
page-template-default,page,page-id-15256,ajax_updown,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-theme-ver-11.1,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.6.2,vc_responsive

Lisa Kaufman


Editorial Services – Content Development – Book Marketing

Lisa Kaufman was for seventeen years marketing director and senior editor of the renowned nonfiction book publisher PublicAffairs, a member of the Perseus Books Group.  Before that she worked at Viking and Penguin both as an editor and as advertising & promotions manager; as a senior editor at Birch Lane/Citadel; as editorial assistant to the associate publisher of Random House, and as an assistant to writer James A. Michener, and as an intern at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.   For more than a decade she taught the advanced class at The Writers Studio. She is a member of the board of the literary journal Epiphany.


Books she has edited have been New York Times, Washington Post, and Los Angeles times bestsellers; won Overseas Press Club, California, Harry Chapin, Action Against Hunger, Exceptional Merit in Media, and Lysander Spooner awards; been finalists for the Helen Bernstein, Christopher, Ralph Gleason, and Books for a Better Life awards; and been New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, and Christian Science Monitor Notable or Best Books of the Year.


Lisa’s clients have included

Open Society Institute, Penguin Books, Portfolio/Current, PublicAffairs
Random House, 
Running Press, Times Books, Simon & Schuster, University of Texas Press, and Viking.

Among the authors she has worked with are…

Edward Achorn

Jane Alexander

Tamim Ansary

Alex Beam

Sarah Brady

Robert Bryce

Anthony DePalma

Lou Dubose

Paul Farmer

Nick Gillespie

Joe Jackson

Kathryn Joyce

David Kirp

William Knoedelseder

Morton Kondracke

Wendy Kopp

Jack Laurence

Marc Lewis

Brian Little

Richard Lewis

Scott McClellan

Martin Meredith

James A. Michener

G. Wayne Miller

Bill Minutaglio

Letty C. Pogrebin

Lynn Povich

Sheridan Prasso

Jan Reid

Joel Siegel

Matt Welch

Wendy Williams